Kaedara and RFL #Inworldz update and future planning

Warning: long, rambling update…

RFL Update: Elvenglades

Traffic has slowed and so have the oYo Breedables sales for RFL. Sort of expected that. Figured there would be a rush in the beginning and then occassional visitors until the rush to tip donations over the edge at the end.

I am disappointed with Dee’s Designs though. I’m not going to scrap it…the store stays to honor my mother’s successful fight against Breast Cancer, even if I’m the only one to enjoy it. It will remain and sales will continue to go to the RFL kiosk year round. IF any sales come about.

Shame too. I spent hours looking for some of the textures I used for pictures in there. At least they’re free TOS so I can use them on websites and whatever else I need, so not a complete waste of my time.

At this moment, Elvenglades kiosks have raised 61,100 izzies total. Not too shabby. In addition, Kels told me the oYo bundles I gave her for the first auction raised another 9500 Izzies. That’s good to know.

The bears are loved that I donated and she popped into the vendors. Not sure what those have brought in total. I think some were given away at the picnic and not sure where all the vendors are. Only one I know of doesn’t show but one sale of them, and I’ve had a lot of word of people loving them. Perhaps perms were not changed and they’re giving them to one another…don’t care. They can give to RFL kiosk on their own in return if so.

Holding the bear people like the best. Horses with me are Bob and Dee, named after my parents.
Holding the bear people like the best. Horses with me are Bob and Dee, named after my parents.

Kels has 15 Breeder’s Sets of wildz, horses, cats, dogs, and dodos to help finish the rest of the season from me. Of course, I breed way too many and will have more if she needs it.

I think I can call this “experiment” a success. My hope is to raise another 40k between now and the end of the season for an even 100K.

Those horse bundles still break!

The horse issue could hinder that, if I don’t find a work around. I just don’t have time to maintain loose version 2 bundles and spend the few hours or so it takes to send them in and then rename and price them when I get the new ones.

There was plenty of notice before this update, so I picked them up and then replaced them with wildz bundles that do not break. Only V2 horse bundles out now are boxed breeder’s sets, which don’t break for some reason.

Thing is, most of the small group of buyers want the horses. Being such a small group, losing the ability to provide the best selling product is hurting my oYo sales, and the RFL kiosk.

And the lack of knowing what is going on. Oyo isn’t noted for sending out notices and letting us know everything…they work more by word of mouth. So, those of us who cannot attend events/auctions or hang out to see chat all the time, do miss a lot.

Elvenglades RFL oYo sales have gone to the wildz thanks to the horse bundles breaking.
Elvenglades RFL oYo sales have gone to the wildz thanks to the horse bundles breaking.

(I just informed one other big oYo breeder of her broken bundles and she’s shocked. Knew nothing about it and wonders why there’s no notices to people, or anything being done. Jenni said maybe I should contact others about it when I see their bundles broken. Not my job, but maybe I will. The more that know their bundles are broken, the more they’ll request something be done about it. Or stop breeding.)

I’m left with no recourse, but to plan as if nothing will be done in the near future about this issue. Need to cut back anyway. I’m clearance selling some horses and have my stay at home breeders down to 58 now, with plans to cut that by ten to 12 per month until probably down to breeding about 20 at a time.

I’ve picked up others like sabers, bears, and elephants, so by the time I’m finished breeding for the goals I have set now, I’ll have probably around 75 animals total. A lot more manageable than the 200 I’ve had in the past.

Thinking I may just breed to retire ones for my displays and sales products, and to donate to RFL. It’s a shame no one is supporting Mandy’s wonderfully done sales area, so any sales spots I need will be there. I may keep a selection at Elvenglades for RFL year around too…depends on what happens after the after season sorting.

My work around for the v2 bundles will be to box them all – means that will have to wait until I can find time to take pictures for each one and set them up.  I tested with ten loose ones out this time and kept the boxed sets out…9 of 10 loose ones broke, and boxed set ones were okay. Jenni is quick and fixed them right away, but still…

And shopping sucks anymore because other breeders just don’t check theirs. Most bundles at markets are broken. Although, I will admit, it does seem like less broke than before from this last update. Still many of them did.

RFL corner on Elvenglades Sim
RFL corner on Elvenglades Sim

He’s still alive!

We found someone who’s in contact with my close online friend and cover artist, Ron. I should have been informed but it seems that a windows 10 upgrade wiped out his contacts from his sister’s computer.

Ron’s been undergoing cancer related surgeries, with some hopeful results and some bad results I’m not at liberty to disclose. Around 4 weeks ago he had an ulcer burst and went into emergency surgery on top of everything else.

He is recovering and should have been entered into rehab yesterday. They hope to have him recovered enough to go home in a few weeks. Prayers still needed.

Or good thoughts…He’s Hopi raised so whatever you do, he appreciates.

Enchanted Isles sim in Kaedara region
Enchanted Isles sim in Kaedara region

Kaedara Future

God willing, I’ll be able to keep all four sims going for years to come. And maybe even add a few. We’re probably going to change jobs and move again, due to impossible circumstances we can’t seem to fix, much as we want to.

This is probably a good thing for us and our lives, so not wholy unwelcome. I just expect things to get pretty bumpy for awhile.

The unfixed bundle situation did make me consider cutting back and letting the sims go…and maybe it will if it’s not fixed. But I’m giving it time…as long as it takes for my current horses to retire, before deciding anything.

My sims are not doing well anymore in traffic. The store one is. The exploration ones are not.

Hudan I can understand. That one is picked up for new forest product to be built…not much to see there at the moment.  The forest is being worked on in my build level during the few moments I get.

But the other two finished ones are not. The story journey across the sims appears to be a failure. It begins where the store traffic comes in. People just do not seem interested. That may have to become a freebie bookcase with all the books in it instead for visitors.

Enchanted Isles is my sanctuary and do not think I’ll scrap it. The Silverwood Memorial will remain on it, and so will Marion Margaret Press’s base, which still needs some work done to it. This sim may be my book series’s show off sim.

Moor-Knight will change though. Perhaps I’ll make it the castle sim, with a full castle and full of items for sale in it. People seem to prefer shopping versus exploring and hanging out in nature scenes.

I shall miss the bog and the bog lady’s house when it comes time.

Elvenglades stores will be developed out as planned. And at some point, the product out and more will be in the marketplace.

This is a winter project…perhaps not until after our forthcoming move to who knows where in real life.

I am making a full range of holdables...may end up needing a whole store just for them when I'm done!
I am making a full range of holdables…may end up needing a whole store just for them when I’m done!

 

 

Leave a Reply

